New Zealand recall Frances Mackay for India T20Is




Mackay scored two centuries and a 97 for Canterbury in 2018-19 Super Smash season.

Mackay scored two centuries and a 97 for Canterbury in 2018-19 Super Smash season. © Getty

New Zealand Women have made quite a few changes to their Twenty20 squad that will take on the touring Indians in a three-match series. Frances Mackay has been recalled to the national team after five years, while uncapped players Caitlin Gurrey and Rosemary Mair also find themselves in the 13-member squad.

Mackay and Gurrey had a phenomenal 2018-19 Super Smash where they topped the batting charts. The former scored two centuries and a 97 for Canterbury and the latter notched up scores of 102, 79 and 55. Meanwhile, right-arm pacer Mair picked up a wicket in almost every match and also claimed 3 for 28 in the warm-up encounter against India.

New Zealand lost to India in the 2018 Women’s World T20 during the group stage and that didn’t allow them to go through to the next round. They have left out Maddy Green, Lauren Down, Katie Perkins, Holly Huddleston and Anna Peterson from that squad.

“We’ve had to draw a line in the sand after our performance at the T20 World Cup,” New Zealand coach Haidie Tiffen said. “We need to reward and give opportunities to players in form, while building depth and competition for places within the environment. Frankie, Katie and Rosemary can all be proud of how they have performed in their respective Super Smash campaigns. We are rewarding players who are in form and we feel these three deserve a chance at the highest level.”

New Zealand women T20I squad: Amy Satterthwaite (C), Suzie Bates, Sophie Devine, Leigh Kasperek, Amelia Kerr, Katey Martin, Bernadine Bezuidenhout, Caitlin Gurrey, Hayley Jensen, Frances Mackay, Rosemary Mair, Hannah Rowe, Lea Tahuhu

© Cricbuzz


Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Social Media Auto Publish Powered By :